The 2022 Tri-Institute Summer School on Elementary Particles (TRISEP) will be held from July 4-15, 2022 and hosted by TRIUMF. TRISEP is an international summer school on particle physics organized jointly by the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, SNOLAB, Canada’s deep underground physics lab, and TRIUMF, Canada’s particle accelerator centre.

This interactive school will feature lectures by leading experts in the field of particle physics and is designed with ample time for group work, problem solving, and discussions with the speakers. TRISEP is intended for graduate students of all levels who have taken an advanced quantum mechanics class and an introductory particle physics class.

Our plan is to hold the school in person provided it is safe to do so. As part of this, TRIUMF has a set of COVID pandemic safety requirements based on the recommendations of the local health authority. Current details can be found here. The number of students will also be limited to ensure spacing and ventilation. More information can be found on the TRIUMF event listing.


Please apply to TRISEP 2022 by following the link below. Application is a two-step process. Applying is free, applications will be reviewed by April 29, and successful applicants will be notified shortly after. Successful applicants will then be asked to pay a non-refundable registration fee of $25 (CAD) to confirm their attendance. Accommodation at UBC Gage Towers ($804/12 nights) can also be arranged at this stage. Space is limited, so please apply by April 29 to ensure full consideration.



TRISEP 2022 lectures include:

  • Mu-Chun Chen (UC Irvine)
  • Miriam Diamond (U Toronto)
  • Deborah Harris (York U/Fermilab)
  • Nick Hutzler (Caltech)
  • Seyda Ipek (Carleton U)
  • Laura Jeanty (U Oregon)
  • Dean Karlen (U Victoria)
  • Andrew Larkoski (SLAC)
  • Marianna Safronova (U Delaware)
  • Ian Shipsey (Oxford U)
  • Kazuhiro Terao (SLAC)
  • Tien-Tien Yu (U Oregon)


TRISEP 2022 poster

Previous schools

Previous TRISEP schools: 2023, 2022, 2021, 2019, 2018, 2017201620152014 and 2013.


Proudly supported by: